Enthronement of Bishop Hrizostom of Serbian Orthodox Church

The head of our local Church, enthroned  the newly elected bishop by giving him pastoral staff in the attendance of seventeen bishops of the Serbian Orthodox Church at the Cathedral church of the Nativity of Theotokos in Bijeljina on Saturday, 13 July 2013. Photo Gallery
His Holiness Serbian Patriarch Irinej served the Holy Hiearchal Liturgy and the rite of enthronement with the concelebration of Their Graces Bishops: Vasilije of Srem, Jovan of Sumadija, Justin of Timok and Teodosije of Raska-Prizren. The church was full of faithful people of Bijeljina, Semberija and other areas of the Diocese of Zvornik-Tuzla as well as from other dioceses from the Republic of Srpska and the region, along with clergy, monks and nuns.
Bishop Jefrem of Banjaluka, former administrator of the Diocese of Zvornik-Tuzla welcomed Patriarch Irinej in front of the Cathedral church in Bijeljina. Many bishops of our Church were present at this significant spiritual event of this centuries-old Diocese: Their Eminences Metropolitans Amfilohije of Montenegro and the Littoral and Metropolitan Nikolaj of Dabar-Bosna, Their Graces Bishops: Jefrem of Banjaluka, Lavrentije of Sabac, Longin of Midwestern America, Nikanor of Banat, Irinej of Backa, Pahomije of Vranje, Joanikije of Budimlje-Niksic, Atanasije of Bihac-Petrovac, Marko of Bregalnica from the Orthodox Archbishopric of Ohrid, Vicar Antonije of Moravica and retired Bishop Konstantin.
The Holy Assembly of Bishops unanimously elected Bishop Hrizostom as a new Bishop of Zvornik-Tuzla, who was a man with deep wisdom and experience in administering the Diocese, since he was heading of the Diocese of Bihac-Petrovac for 22 years (1991-2013).
Later on, an agape feast was prepared at the ethno village Stanisici for representatives of political, cultural and public life of the Republic of Srpska, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and countries of the region: President of the Government of Republic of Srpska Milorad Dodik, President of the National Assembly of Republic of Srpska Igor Radojcic, Prime Minister of the Una-Sana Canton Dr. Hamdija Lipovac, director of the Office for Cooperation with Churches and Religious Communities of the Government of the Republic of Serbia Dr. Mileta Radojevic, Mayor of Bijeljina Mico Micic, Roman Catholic envoy Vicar Bishop Marko Semren, Dario Atijas on behalf of the Jewish Community and others.



Share This Post

Post Comment